Show Review: Fall Out Boy

Posted by on Dec 13, 2008 in Uncategorized | 1 comment

Fall Out Boy’s One Night Stand at the Chicago Theater, presented by FUSE, was a night of excitement for all who were fortunate to be in attendance.  For die-hard fans used to paying $35-$110 to see the band, the $10 ticket price was a welcomed change. Prior to the Fall Out boy set, an acoustic performance by William Beckett of the Academy Is set the tone. His set was short and sweet, clocking in at just under 30 minutes. Included in this inspired performance were songs from their back catalog and a surprise cover of the song “Radio” by Chicago’s own Alkaline Trio.  The disturbing part for this reviewer was that during “Radio” I noticed that hardly anyone in the audience seemed to know the song. I found that disappointing from a primarily Chicago crowd. The highlight of his performance was a crowd sing-along to the song  “About a Girl.”   At the very end of his set, Beckett got the crowd going by leading the chant of  “Fall Out Boy, Fall Out Boy!” The stage lights went black and it was time for the band that everyone in attendance had come to see, Fall Out Boy!

The show itself was filled with flashy pyrotechnic, along with  MTV/FUSE style dancers in bear suits.  The set list was filled with both new and old songs, contrary to the public perception that the band would only be playing song from their upcoming album “Folie A Deux”. The capacity crowd was comprised of both young and old fans alike, and excitedly filled the Chicago Theater’s 3500 seats. At one point during the show, bass player Pete Wentz sent a shout out to all the parents in the audience who brought their kids to the show and allowed them to support Fall Out Boy.  At the end of the show, Wentz invited everyone that had been sitting in the seats for the previous 2 hours to come into the isles without hurting anyone and to join with the frenzied fanatics who had the opportunity to watch the show from the orchestra pit.  The show was a success from beginning to end. If you were not able to make the live taping, you can view the FUSE aired performance at 7:30pm on December 16th 2008, the day Folie A Deux is released.

Set List:

William Beckett(Singer of The Academy Is)

Winter Passing

The Test

Half of “Radio” by Alkaline Trio


About A Girl


1. Thnks Fr Th Mmrs

2. Thriller

3. Nobody Puts Baby In The Corner

4. A Little Less 16 Candles

5. The Take Over, The Break Over

6. Chicago Is So 2 Years Ago

7. I Don’t Care

8. I Slept With Someone From Fall Out Boy And All I Got Was This Stupid Song Written About Me

9. Sugar We’re Going Down

10. I’m Like A Lawyer With The Way I’m Always Trying To Get You Off (Me & You)

11. Headfirst Slide Into Cooperstown On a Bad Bet

12. Beat It

13. Dance, Dance

14. Intro to a new song that Pete called his favorite on the new album

15. Grand Theft Autumn

16. America’s Sweethearts

17. This Ain’t A Scene

18. Yule Shoot Your Eye Out

19. Saturday